First Prize ($13,100 total value) $5,000 cash award

Performances ($8,100 in total fees)

  1. Concerto performance with Peninsula Symphony Orchestra; Los Altos, CA
  2. Full-length recital performance at the Gualala Arts Chamber Music Series; Gualala, CA.
  3. Concerto performance with Santa Cruz Symphony; Santa Cruz, CA
  4. Performances as part of the Music in the Vineyards festival; Napa Valley, CA
  5. Recital performance at Noontime Concerts series; San Francisco, CA

Second Prize
($5,500 value) $3,500 cash award

Includes a concerto performance with San José Chamber Orchestra; San José, CA

The Second Prize is given by Ruth Short in honor of Elaine H. Klein, wife of Irving M. Klein, and for the past 25 years, an active board member and supporter of the Klein Competition and California Music Center.

Third Prize
$2,500 cash award

The Third Prize is given by David and Judy Anderson, in memory of Judy’s father, Milton Preves, who was Principal Violist with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra from 1939 to 1986 and was instrumental in developing the basis for the current judging procedures for the Klein Competition.

Fourth Prize
Two $1,500 cash awards

The Roman Goronok Scholarship ($5,000) is the result of a partnership with the international dealer in fine and rare stringed instruments, Roman Goronok. The scholarship is awarded annually to a selected Klein Competition Finalist to assist in his/her career development and will be made on the basis of written submissions from Semifinalists, describing how the Scholarship would be of assistance in their growth and practice. Information on Mr. Goronok and The Roman Goronok Company can be found here.

Semifinalist Prizes
Each semifinalist not awarded a named prize will receive $1,000.

(awarded after the Semifinals round of the Competition)

Best Performance of the Commissioned Work
$500 cash award

The prize for best performance of the commissioned work is named in memory of Allen R. Weiss and Susan E. Weiss, who were often seen ushering together at the competition, typically wearing a dress and bowtie made from the same fabric. They were tireless volunteers for musical and theatrical organizations, and they spent their lives encouraging children (especially their own) to express themselves through the arts.

Pablo Casals Prize
$500 cash award

The Pablo Casals Prize is given for the best performance of the solo Bach work, in honor of the musical tradition of the great master. It is given by Alan and Flora Grishman to celebrate the memory of his father, Irving M. Grishman, who bestowed the gifts of love and music.