THE 39TH ANNUAL INTERNATIONAL STRING COMPETITION

die.

SAN FRANCISCO

CONSERVATORY OF MUSIC

JUNE 1-2, 2024



Zlatomir Fung, 1st Price 2014



Recognized as one of the most prestigious classical music competitions in the world,

the Klein Competition is open to string players not under professional management who are between the ages of 15 – 23 at the time of the Competition.

8-9 participants are chosen in a rigorous blind screening process to compete over two days at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music for performance contracts and cash prizes. Semifinalists will premiere commissioned works by Emmy award-winner John Wineglass and perform Bach, concerti, and sonata movements. Prizewinners go on to appear in Bay Area recitals and as soloists with regional orchestras.

A limited number of application fee and travel scholarships are available for applicants with demonstrated need. First come, first serve - apply early.

Online submissions accepted November 1, 2023 - February 3, 2024

Visit <u>www.californiamusiccenter.org</u> for details and FAQs

THE KLEIN EXPERIENCE

- Mentorship and coaching from a past Klein laureate
- ✓ One-on-one jury feedback
- Premiere a new work with the composer present
- Dedication to your success in a welcoming, supportive environment

PRIZES

- First: \$5,000 + concerts with the Peninsula Symphony, Santa Cruz Symphony, Gualala Chamber Series
- Second: \$3,500 + concert with the San Jose Chamber Orchestra
- **Third:** \$2,500
- ✓ Two \$1,500 Fourth Prizes
- \$500 Bach and Commissioned Work Prizes
- Non-placing semifinalists receive a \$1,000 award



SCAN THIS CODE TO APPLY!

Past laureates include:

32 concertmasters

17 Grammy winners

10 Grammy nominees

29 orchestra principals

9 Avery Fisher Grantees

Counted among the many stellar prizewinners are

Tessa Lark, Frank Huang, Jennifer Koh, Ariel Horowitz, David McCarroll, Mark Kosower, Oliver Herbert, Teng Li and Jennifer Frautschi.

Get in touch

info@californiamusiccenter.org 415-252-1122

HISTORY

Founded in 1986 by the California Music Center in memory of Irving Klein, acclaimed cellist and distinguished educator, the Irving M. Klein International String Competition nurtures the talents and careers of young musicians with prizes and performance contracts to support them in launching their careers.

The Klein is recognized for the high caliber of the contestants, its supportive environment, and its commitment to the commissioning of new works. Participants agree that it fosters a lasting sense of community and generosity of spirit in the world of professional string musicians.

Among the past jury panelists, we are proud to have hosted laureates Cathy Basrak, Charles Castleman, Francesca dePasquale, and Zlatomir Fung; and Richard Aaron, Glenn Dicterow, Karen Dreyfus, Harold Robinson, Daniel Stewart, Ian Swenson, and Barbara Day Turner.

Francesca dePasquale, 1st Prize 2010 Photo credit: Sophie Zhai

Why apply? Our Laureates tell our story best



66

The Klein Competition has been absolutely monumental in the shaping of my artistry and my career. It is completely unique in how it supports its winners, providing experiences in soloing with orchestras, giving solo recitals, performing chamber music, leading master classes, and presenting educational outreach, all at an incredibly high level of musicianship and with complete generosity of spirit, which is what sets it apart in the classical music world from other competitions.

Francesca dePasquale,

concert violinist and educator

66

I would like to express my immense gratitude to the Klein Competition, for winning it was the single most important event in my youth that opened doors to so many great opportunities for me.

Robert de Maine,

principal cellist, Los Angeles Philharmonic

"

I still have very fond memories of my time at the competition, and the concerts that resulted from my win were very important in my development, since they were really my first professional engagements.

Jennifer Frautschi,

concert violinist

"

For me, the Klein Competition was a memorable and significant step in my professional and personal development. A few years ago, I had the great pleasure of adjudicating at the Klein Competition, and I was delighted to see that the friendly, cordial atmosphere and many of the personal touches that I remember so fondly, are still in play at the Competition.

Mark Kosower,

principal cellist, Cleveland Orchestra and educator



I have fond memories of the Klein Competition. I remember the great warmth from the audiences and judges, the supportive atmosphere, even under the competition pressure. Thank you for being one of the first steps towards making my musical dreams a reality.

Amy Schwartz-Moretti,

Director of The Robert Mcduffie Center for Strings



Get in touch info@californiamusiccenter.org 415-252-1122

34 CONCERTMASTERS

Madeline Adkins, Stephanie Arado, Christina Castelli, Annie Chalex Boyle, Daniel Cho, Nikki Chooi, Kathryn Eberle, Angela Fuller, Celeste Golden, Lydia Hong, Frank Huang, Katie Hyun, Gloria Justen, Eunice Keem, David Kim, So Jin Kim, Joanna Kurkowicz, Yvonne Lam, Kevin Lin, Natalie Lin, Amy Lee, David McCarroll, Lucia Micarelli, Amy Schwartz Moretti, Esther Noh, Jenny Oaks Baker, Alyssa Park, Ilana Setapen, Robin Sharp, Heeguen Song, Emma Steele, Wyatt Underhill, Jing Wang, Angela Wee

17 GRAMMY WINNERS

Jennifer Koh, Yvonne Lam, Parker Quartet, Sara Parkins, Ying Quartet, LA Phil, NY Phil, Philadelphia Orch, SF Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, Chicago Symphony, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Houston Symphony, St. Louis Symphony, Buffalo Philharmonic

10 GRAMMY NOMINEES

Jennifer Frautschi, Misha Keylin, Ayane Kozasa, Clara Lyon, Tessa Lark, Jenny Oaks Baker; Cincinnati Symphony, Dallas Symphony, Detroit Symphony, Utah Symphony.

29 ORCHESTRA PRINCIPALS

Gianna Abondolo, Ani Aznavoorian, Cathy Basrak, Charles Chandler, Annie Chang-Center, Robert deMaine, Margo Drakos, Amir Eldan, Lydia Hong, Austin Huntington, Patrick Jee, Kirsten Johnson, Madeleine Kabat, Mark Kosower, Ayane Kozasa, Timothy Landauer, Cecilia Sang-Kyung Lee, Teng Li, Eileen Moon, Hai-Ye Ni, Eric Nowlin, Serge Oskotsky, Alberto Parrini, Sara Parkins, Gabe Polinsky, Joshua Roman, Julia Tom, Meta Weiss.

9 AVERY FISHER CAREER GRANTS

Jennifer Frautschi, Zlatomir Fung, Oliver Herbert, Mark Kosower, Jennifer Koh, Tessa Lark, Hai-Ye Ni, Wendy Warner, Angelo Xiang Yu.