Home 2018-03-20T20:30:17+00:00

Jeremy Tai, First Prize 2017

2018 Laureate Concerts

Will Langlie-Miletich, 2016 first prize winner

Jeremy Tai, Zhanbo Zhang, Kyumin Park

Coleman Itzkoff in concert March 23rd

Image is not available
previous arrow
next arrow

33rd Annual Irving M. Klein International String Competition      

June 2 – 3, 2018, San Francisco California

Applications are now closed. Thank you to everyone who applied.  Semifinalists will be announced March 30th.

The Irving M. Klein International String Competition is presented by California Music Center and the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. For the past 32 years, “the Klein” has attracted some of the world’s finest young string players to San Francisco each June to compete for cash and performance prizes. Violinists, violists, cellists and bassists age 15 to 23 of any nationality are eligible to compete.  The Klein Competition has achieved international recognition as one of the most prestigious classical music competitions, recognized for the high caliber of the contestants; its unique, nurturing environment; and its commitment to the commissioning of new works.

Its award carries the distinction that has helped many top soloists gain prominence in the competitive world of classical music, including Jennifer Koh, Mark Kosower, Vadim Gluzman, Jennifer Frautschi, Alban Gerhardt, Frank Huang and Robert deMaine; up and coming players David Requiro (2006), Tessa Lark (2008) and Nikki Chooi (2009); and principal chairs in many of the finest U.S. orchestras, including the Philadelphia and Cleveland Orchestras, the New York Philharmonic, and the Boston Symphony.

Jeremy Tai, a freshman cello student of Northwestern’s Bienen School professor Hans Jensen, won the 2017 first prize. He was also awarded the competition’s Allen R. and Susan E. Weiss Memorial Prize for Best Performance of the Commissioned Work, receiving more than $13,000 in prizes, including performances with our producing partners, the Peninsula and Santa Cruz Symphonies, the Gualala Arts Chamber Music Series, the Music in the Vineyards festival, and other performance opportunities. In the final round of competition, Tai performed Prokofiev’s Sinfonia Concertante in E minor and Grieg’s Cello Sonata in A minor, as well as the commissioned work by Lisa Bielawa, Insomnia Etude #3 – 5:15am.

The competition is named for the late cellist and master teacher who devoted himself untiringly to the development of young artists.

 Congratulations to the 2017 Winners

Mitch and FinalistsKyumin Park; Zhanbo Zheng; Mitchell Klein, Artistic Director; and Jeremy Tai

Kathleen E. Freeman Memorial 1st Prize: Jeremy Tai, cello
Elaine H. Klein 2nd Prize: Zhanbo Zheng, viola
Milton Preves Memorial 3rd Prize: Kyumin Park, violin
Harry Adams Memorial 4th Prize: Peter Eom, cello
Jerry Lee Klein Memorial 4th Prize: Karisa Chiu, violin
Allen R. and Susan E. Weiss Memorial Prize for Best Performance of the Commissioned Work: Jeremy Tai, cello
Pablo Casals Prize for Best Performance of Solo Bach: Zhanbo Zheng, viola

Photo by Carlin Ma

SOLD OUT! House Concert

March 23, 2018  6:30PM  San Francisco

Coleman Itzkoff, cello with Miles Graber, piano

For our next house concert of 2018, we welcome the exciting young cellist, Coleman Itzkoff, a multiple prizewinner at the 2016 Klein String Competition.  The program will include Mendelssohn’s  B flat Sonata no. 1 for Cello and Piano, the Debussy Sonata in D minor for Cello and Piano, in addition to Das Buch for solo by Vasks.

Join us as early as 6:30PM for a dinner buffet, fine wines, and desserts; concert at 7:30PM sharp. Your hosts will welcome you to their loft in San Francisco’s historic Clock Tower building.